Doctors to be appointed as chairpersons for the 10 new AIIMS
Ten new AIIMS hospitals, to be set up in different parts of the country, will have well-known doctors and not Union Minister of Health and Family Welfare as chairpersons, in a marked shift in government policy.

Government officials said that the decision has been taken to facilitate faster decision making at these facilities. At present, Union health minister is the chairman of AIIMS, Delhi and six other such institutions in Bhubaneshwar, Bhopal, Rishikesh, Patna, Jodhpur and Raipur.

“There has been a growing feeling that many crucial decisions get delayed or stuck because new hospitals have to reach out to the Centre for major approvals and decisions. Hence, it has now been decided that the upcoming AIIMS hospitals will have senior doctors as chairmen,” a senior health ministry official said.

From 2019, two more AIIMS units at Mangalgiri and Nagpur are set to be operational. These are the first AIIMS institutions for which individual chairpersons have been appointed. There are plans to build new centres at Gorakhpur, Kalyani, Chansagri, Vijaypur, Awantipora, Bhatinda, Bilaspur and Madurai.

Dr. S●●●m P●●●l and 2 other likes this