Govt announces expansion of rotavirus vaccine in 5 states
The government has announced the expansion of rotavirus vaccine in five additional states under its Universal Immunisation Programme (UIP). The announcement came after 38 lakh children were vaccinated in four states - Haryana, Himachal Pradesh, Andhra Pradesh and Odisha when the vaccine was first introduced.
Now, the vaccine will be expanded to Assam, Tripura, Madhya Pradesh, Rajasthan and Tamil Nadu. The vaccine will prevent Rotavirus diarrhoea in children which accounts for approximately 40 per cent of hospitalizations from diarrhoea in India.